How Much Jail Time for a Gun Charge in Illinois?
Every citizen in the United States has Second Amendment rights. This right makes it possible for U.S. citizens to own a firearm. If you plan to carry a gun in public, you must have a permit. In addition, every firearm owner should have a firearm identification card.
Failure to have a firearm identification card can result in hefty fines, and if you are not lucky, you can end up in jail. If you find yourself on the wrong side of the law due to gun possession or misuse, give a criminal defense lawyer a call, and we will try our best to guarantee the best possible outcome for your case.
Gun Charges in Illinois
The gun charges will depend on the circumstances of the crime. For example, if you are arrested while having a gun in public and without a concealed carry permit, you will typically be charged with unlawful use of a weapon (UUW).
If you do not have a firearm owner’s identification card (FOID) and you happen to be arrested while the gun is loaded, you will likely be charged with an aggravated UUW. An aggravated UUW is a severe charge that attracts hefty fines.
UUW Fines and Punishments
If you carry your gun without possession of a FOID card, you can be arrested and prosecuted. If you have a FOID card and get caught improperly carrying an unloaded gun, you can be charged with a misdemeanor UUW. A class A misdemeanor charge has a maximum punishment of 12 months in jail and a $2,500 fine.
Aggravated UUW is a charge brought about when you carry a loaded gun without a concealed carry permit or a FOID card. This attracts a class 4 felony, and if convicted, you can be sent to jail for three years. Keep in mind that an aggravated UUW will most likely attract a jail term.
Get in Touch with a Firearms Violation Attorney
If you have been charged with any gun-related crime, give Chicago Trusted Attorneys® a call at 312-931-5411 so that we can protect your rights before they send you to jail. Alternatively, you can get in touch through the submission box below.