Impersonators have been calling individuals and pretending to be Chicago Trusted Attorneys inquiring about a Johnson & Johnson lawsuit. If you have received one of these calls, we advise not providing any personal information and blocking the number. We are currently working with our partners to isolate the source and remove their ability to contact you.
Most Common Illinois Gun Law Violations
Illinois is known for having one of the strictest gun-control laws in the country. If you are arrested with the problem of possession of an illegal firearm, you will be charged with a Class A misdemeanor. If you are convicted, you will be incarcerated for 12 months and pay a fine of up to $2,500.
If you are convicted of illegally possessing a handgun, you can spend up to three years in prison and a fine of more than $25,000. If you are arrested for violating an Illinois gun law, give a criminal defense lawyer a call, and we will ensure the best possible outcome for your case.
So which are some of the most common gun law violations in Illinois?
Common Illinois Gun Law Violations to Be Aware Of
Unlawful Weapon Use
The penalties for unlawful use of a weapon can be found in the Illinois statute 720 5/24-1. According to the law, unlawful use of a weapon can range from selling, manufacturing, or carrying dangerous weapons such as tasers and blades. Other instances of unlawful use of a weapon are:
- Possession of a tear gas launcher
- The manufacture of explosive devices
- Manufacture of explosive bullets
- Carrying a firearm contrary to the firearm concealed carry act
Though the above offenses are categorized as class A misdemeanor charges, they can be elevated into Class 4 felony charges. Circumstances that may warrant a class 4 felony are; carrying a deadly weapon to a paid public event or wearing a hood while carrying a firearm.
This charge is for people who discharge their firearms to jeopardize the safety of other people if you fire the weapon in the direction of a group of people, a building, or an occupied vehicle.
Aggravated weapon discharge is a serious offense that attracts a prison sentence of around 15 years. At the same time, you can also be slapped with a fine of $25,000.
Unlawful Weapon Possession
This gun charge is due to failing to have a firearm owner’s identification card. This card enables you to carry a concealed gun legally. You can also be charged with unlawful weapon possession if:
- You have a concealed gun but are 18 years and below
- You had been convicted of a misdemeanor before, and you are 21 years and below
- You carry a firearm, yet you had been a patient in a mental institution within the last 5 years
Get In Touch With a Qualified Gun Possession Lawyer
Another common Illinois gun charge that we deal with, is reckless discharge of a weapon. This charge is brought about when an individual recklessly discharges his weapon without caring about the safety of others. This charge might attract several criminal charges, resulting in heavy fines and many years in prison.
If you are facing a gun-related charge, do not hesitate to seek the services of our experienced legal team at Chicago Trusted Attorneys. Dial 312-519-3171, and we will ensure the best possible outcome for your gun charge is achieved.